History of ESAAG

help sans-serif; background-image: initial; background-attachment: initial; background-position: initial; background-repeat: initial;">The Accountants General of East and Southern Africa met in Maseru, Lesotho in 1992, in Nairobi, Kenya in 1993 and in Arusha, Tanzania in 1995 with a view to:
    • Establishing cooperation between countries in the Region in the field of Government Accounting;
    • Providing a forum for participants to review and discuss comparative experiences; and
    • Encouraging the development of Government Accounting Personnel and Trainers through the implementation of a regional programme of attachment and the production of a number of comparative case studies .
During the 1995 meeting it was resolved to establish an East & Southern African Association of Accountants General ("ESAAG", hereinafter called "the Association") in accordance with the status contained herein.

The ESAAG member countries are at present 14, namely, Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe